A guide on Foreign Language Proficiency tests in India
Thursday March 12, 2020

The language proficiency test is an evaluation process to test your language skills in a real-life
and practical scenario. If you’re planning to move abroad then passing this test is a must. It
usually compares a person’s unrehearsed ability against a set of language descriptors.

The language proficiency test is usually conducted by foreign universities or workplaces to
make you adept with the language. Learning a foreign language not only eases your
communication but also helps you in understanding the culture. Having proficiency in the local
language helps you in ascending the success ladder quicker than your peers or colleagues. And,
having it documented is an added advantage and can also be included in your qualification and
credentials. Meanwhile, it also boosts your confidence skill, since passing any exam has always
felt like an achievement.

Due to the speedy development of communication, inclusive economy and the vast scope of
specialized studies, today more Indians are considering a career in a foreign language. Some of
the famous language proficiency tests are DELF, TEF, DELE, HSK, TOPIK, JLPT, ZD, Test DAF,
TORFL, CELI to name a few. In this blog, we will discuss a few of them in depth.


DELF (Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française) and then DALF (Diplôme
Approfondi de Langue Française). These are French language proficiency tests awarded by the
French Ministry of Education. In total, there sre 4 DELF (A1, A2, B1, B2), from beginners to
higher intermediate level and 2 DALF (C1, C2) exams, for the proficient ones. These exams are
valid for life and are recognized around the world.

ZD, Test DAF:

Zertifikat Deutsch (ZD) is the proficiency test that will ascertain your competency
in speaking the German language (Deutsch). The exam is promoted and supported by the
German Government. It follows the set-out guidelines of the CEFR. The test is performed in
levels ranging from A1, for beginners, to C2, for advanced speakers of the language.


The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) test, as performed by  Hanban , representing the Chinese
Ministry of Education. There are total of six levels HSK1 is the easiest, to HSK6 the hardest.
The HSK oral test, i.e., HSKK, is divided into three levels, i.e., HSK (Elementary), HSK
(Intermediate), and HSK (Advanced).

Pass this yardstick and let the others measure your competencies well!

Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Now